AAC Men’s Basketball Coaches

AAC basketball programs and current men’s head coaches

The American Athletic Conference (AAC or The American) was officially formed in 2013 as a successor to the original Big East (formed in 1979). Starting with 10 members, the league lost both Louisville and UConn in 2014 while adding East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa. Wichita State joined in 2017 and then in 2023, a group of six programs joined from Conference USA (Charlotte, Florida Atlantic, North Texas, Rice, UAB and UTSA). In 2024, SMU departed the league to join the ACC.

School Current Coach Years
Charlotte 49ers Aaron Fearne 2023-
East Carolina Pirates Michael Schwartz 2022-
Florida Atlantic Owls John Jakus 2024-
Memphis Tigers Penny Hardaway 2018-
North Texas Mean Green Ross Hodge 2023-
Rice Owls Rob Lanier 2024-
South Florida Bulls Amir Abdur-Rahim 2023-
Temple Owls Adam Fisher 2023-
Tulane Green Wave Ron Hunter 2019-
Tulsa Golden Hurricane Eric Konkol 2022-
UAB Blazers Andy Kennedy 2020-
UTSA Roadrunners vacant 2024-
Wichita State Shockers Paul Mills 2023-