Clarence Gaines Award

List of Clarence Gaines Award winners (Div II)

Every year since 2011, has awarded the Clarence “Big House” Gaines Award to recognize the best men’s college basketball coach of the season in Division II (formerly the College Division). The award is named after the late Hall-of-Famer Clarence Gaines, who spent 47 years as the head coach at Winston-Salem State and won the D-II NCAA Championship in 1967. Northwest Missouri State’s Ben McCollum is the only coach to win the award more than once (2012 and 2020).

See also: NABC Division II Coach of the Year

Year Coach School
2011 Steve Kinder Humboldt State
2012 Ben McCollum Northwest Missouri State
2013 Tom Billeter Augustana
2014 Jeff Wilson East Stroudsburg
2015 Chad Walthall Minnesota State-Moorhead
2016 Josh Schertz Augustana
2017 Darren Vorderbruegge Hawaii Pacific
2018 Grady Brewer Morehouse
2019 Andre Cook St. Edward’s
2020 Ben McCollum (2) Northwest Missouri State (2)
2021 Todd Duncan Lubbock Christian
2022 Ben McCollum (3) Northwest Missouri State (3)
2023 Jim Crutchfield Nova Southeastern
2024 Jordan Fee Gannon

< Clarence Gaines Award (Div II) >

<< Awards & Championships >>