Coaching Carousel 2001

Coaching Carousel 2001: Updating list of Division I Basketball Coaching Changes (2000-01 Season / 2001 Off-Season)

Conference School New Coach Previous Coach
ACC Wake Forest Skip Prosser Dave Odom (left for South Carolina)
America East Hofstra Tom Pecora Jay Wright (left for Villanova)
Northeastern Ron Everhart Rudy Keeling (fired)
Atlantic 10 Duquesne Danny Nee Darelle Porter (resigned)
George Washington Karl Hobbs Tom Penders (resigned)
La Salle Billy Hahn Speedy Morris (fired)
Rhode Island Jim Baron Jerry DeGregorio (fired)
St. Bonaventure Jan van Breda Kolff Jim Baron (left for Rhode Island)
UMass Steve Lappas Bruiser Flint (resigned)
Xavier Thad Matta Skip Prosser (left for Wake Forest)
Big 12 Texas Tech Bob Knight James Dickey (fired)
Big East Rutgers Gary Waters Kevin Bannon (fired)
Seton Hall Louis Orr Tommy Amaker (left for Michigan)
Villanova Jay Wright Steve Lappas (resigned)
Big Ten Michigan Tommy Amaker Brian Ellerbe (fired)
Wisconsin Bo Ryan Dick Bennett (resigned midseason)
Big West Cal Poly Kevin Bromley Jeff Schneider (resigned midseason)
Idaho Leonard Perry David Farrar (fired)
CAA Drexel Bruiser Flint Steve Seymour (fired)
Old Dominion Blaine Taylor Jeff Capel II (resigned)
Towson Michael Hunt Mike Jaskulski (fired)
Conference USA Louisville Rick Pitino Denny Crum (retired)
Horizon League Butler Todd Lickliter Thad Matta (left for Xavier)
Milwaukee Bruce Pearl Bo Ryan (left for Wisconsin)
MAAC Siena Rob Lanier Louis Orr (left for Seton Hall)
MAC Kent State Stan Heath Gary Waters (left for Rutgers)
Northern Illinois Rob Judson Brian Hammel (resigned midseason)
Ohio Tim O’Shea Larry Hunter (fired)
MEAC Florida A&M Mike Gillespie Mickey Clayton (resigned to be AD)
Morgan State Butch Beard Chris Fuller (fired)
Mid-Continent UMKC Rich Zvosec Dean Demopoulos (left for the NBA)
Mountain West UNLV Charlie Spoonhour Bill Bayno (fired)
NEC Robert Morris Mark Schmidt Danny Nee (left for Duquesne)
SEC South Carolina Dave Odom Eddie Fogler (retired)
Tennessee Buzz Peterson Jerry Green (resigned)
Southland McNeese State Tic Price Ron Everhart (left for Northeastern)
Sun Belt Denver Terry Carroll Marty Fletcher (fired)
New Orleans Monte Towe Joey Stiebing (fired)
North Texas Johnny Jones Vic Trilli (fired)
SWAC Southern Ben Jobe Tommie Green (resigned)
Texas Southern Ronnie Courtney Robert Moreland (fired)
WAC Tulsa John Phillips Buzz Peterson (left for Tennessee)
WCC Pepperdine Paul Westphal Jan van Breda Kolff (left for St. Bonaventure)
Portland Michael Holton Rob Chavez (fired)
Saint Mary’s Randy Bennett Dave Bollwinkel (resigned)

Check out other coaching carousel rundowns: 20242023 | 20222021 | 2020 | 2019 | 201820172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000