Coaching Carousel 2002

Coaching Carousel 2002: Updating list of Division I Basketball Coaching Changes (2001-02 Season / 2002 Off-Season)

Conference School New Coach Previous Coach
ACC Florida State Leonard Hamilton Steve Robinson (fired)
America East Albany Will Brown Scott Beeten (fired midseason)
Atlantic 10 Richmond Jerry Wainwright John Beilein (left for West Virginia)
Atlantic Sun Georgia State Michael Perry Lefty Driesell (retired)
Big East West Virginia John Beilein Gale Catlett (retired)
Big Sky Montana Pat Kennedy Don Holst (fired)
Portland State Heath Schroyer Joel Sobotka (resigned)
Big South Liberty Randy Dunton Mel Hankinson (fired)
Radford Byron Samuels Ron Bradley (resigned)
Big West Long Beach State Larry Reynolds Wayne Morgan (resigned)
CAA UNC Wilmington Brad Brownell Jerry Wainwright (left for Richmond)
VCU Jeff Capel III Mack McCarthy (resigned)
Conference USA DePaul Dave Leitao Pat Kennedy (resigned)
Saint Louis Brad Soderberg Lorenzo Romar (left for Washington)
TCU Neil Dougherty Billy Tubbs (resigned)
UAB Mike Anderson Murry Bartow (resigned)
Horizon League Green Bay Tod Kowalczyk Mike Heideman (fired)
MAC Kent State Jim Christian Stan Heath (left for Arkansas)
MEAC Bethune-Cookman Clifford Reed Horace Broadnax (resigned)
Hampton Bobby Collins Steve Merfeld (left for Evansville)
Norfolk State Dwight Freeman Wil Jones (fired)
Mid-Continent Valparaiso Scott Drew Homer Drew (retired)
Missouri Valley Bradley Jim Les Jim Molinari (fired)
Evansville Steve Merfeld Jim Crews (fired)
Mountain West New Mexico Ritchie McKay Fran Fraschilla (fired)
NEC Long Island Jim Ferry Ray Martin (resigned)
Ohio Valley Tennessee Tech Mike Sutton Jeff Lebo (left for Chattanooga)
Pac-10 Oregon State Jay John Ritchie McKay (left for New Mexico)
Washington Lorenzo Romar Bob Bender (fired)
Patriot League Army Jim Crews Pat Harris (fired)
Lehigh Billy Taylor Sal Mentesana (fired)
SEC Arkansas Stan Heath Nolan Richardson (retired)
SoCon Chattanooga Jeff Lebo Henry Dickerson (resigned)
College of Charleston Tom Herrion John Kresse (retired)
Wofford Mike Young Richard Johnson (resigned to be AD)
Southland Nicholls State Ricky Blanton Rickey Broussard (resigned)
Sun Belt Middle Tennessee Kermit Davis Randy Wiel (resigned)
South Alabama John Pelphrey Bob Weltlich (resigned)
SWAC Arkansas-Pine Bluff Van Holt Harold Blevins (fired)
Prairie View A&M Jerry Francis Elwood Plummer (fired)
WAC Boise State Greg Graham Rod Jensen (fired)
Fresno State Ray Lopes Jerry Tarkanian (retired)
San José State Phil Johnson Steve Barnes (resigned)
UTEP Billy Gillispie Jason Rabedeaux (resigned)

Check out other coaching carousel rundowns: 20242023 | 20222021 | 2020 | 2019 | 201820172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000