Coaching Carousel 2005

Coaching Carousel 2005: Updating list of Division I Basketball Coaching Changes (2004-05 Season / 2005 Off-Season)

Conference School New Coach Previous Coach
ACC Virginia Dave Leitao Pete Gillen (resigned)
America East New Hampshire Bill Herrion Phil Rowe (resigned)
Stony Brook Steve Pikiell Nick Macarchuk (retired)
Vermont Mike Lonergan Tom Brennan (retired)
Atlantic 10 Richmond Chris Mooney Jerry Wainwright (left for DePaul)
UMass Travis Ford Steve Lappas (fired)
Atlantic Sun Florida Atlantic Matt Doherty Sidney Green (fired)
Jacksonville Cliff Warren Hugh Durham (retired)
Big East Cincinnati Andy Kennedy Bob Huggins (resigned)
DePaul Jerry Wainwright Dave Leitao (left for Virginia)
Big Sky Portland State Ken Bone Heath Schroyer (resigned)
Big South Charleston Southern Barclay Radebaugh Jim Platt (resigned)
Coastal Carolina Buzz Peterson Pete Strickland (fired)
VMI Duggar Baucom Bart Bellairs (fired)
Big Ten Purdue Matt Painter Gene Keady (retired)
Big West UC Riverside David Spencer John Masi (fired)
Conference USA East Carolina Ricky Stokes Bill Herrion (fired)
Tulane Dave Dickerson Shawn Finney (fired)
Tulsa Doug Wojcik John Phillips (resigned)
Horizon League Milwaukee Rob Jeter Bruce Pearl (left for Tennessee)
Youngstown State Jerry Slocum John Robic (fired)
Independent IPFW Dane Fife Doug Noll (fired)
Savannah State Horace Broadnax Ed Daniels (fired)
MAAC Rider Tommy Dempsey Don Harnum (resigned to be AD)
Siena Fran McCaffery Rob Lanier (fired)
MAC Eastern Michigan Charles Ramsey Jim Boone (fired)
MEAC Howard Gil Jackson Frankie Allen (fired)
Mid-Continent Centenary Rob Flaska Kevin Johnson (resigned)
Mountain West Air Force Jeff Bzdelik Chris Mooney (left for Richmond)
BYU Dave Rose Steve Cleveland (left for Fresno State)
NEC St. Francis Brooklyn Brian Nash Ron Ganulin (fired)
Ohio Valley Eastern Illinois Mike Miller Rick Samuels (fired)
Eastern Kentucky Jeff Neubauer Travis Ford (left for UMass)
Pac-10 USC Tim Floyd Henry Bibby (fired midseason)
SEC Tennessee Bruce Pearl Buzz Peterson (fired)
SoCon UNC Greensboro Mike Dement Fran McCaffery (left for Siena)
Western Carolina Larry Hunter Steve Shurina (fired)
Southland Louisiana-Monroe Orlando Early Mike Vining (retired)
Southeastern Louisiana Jim Yarbrough Billy Kennedy (left for Miami FL)
SWAC Alabama State Lewis Jackson Rob Spivery (fired)
Mississippi Valley State James Green Lafayette Stribling (retired)
Prairie View A&M Darrell Hawkins (interim) Jerry Francis (resigned)
Southern Rob Spivery Michael Grant (fired)
WAC Fresno State Steve Cleveland Ray Lopes (resigned)
New Mexico State Reggie Theus Lou Henson (retired)
San José State George Nessman Phil Johnson (fired)
WCC Loyola Marymount Rodney Tention Steve Aggers (fired)

Check out other coaching carousel rundowns: 20242023 | 20222021 | 2020 | 2019 | 201820172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000