Coaching Carousel 2023

Coaching Carousel 2023: Updating list of Division I Basketball Coaching Changes (2022-23 Season / 2023 Off-Season)

Conference School New Coach Previous Coach
AAC Charlotte Aaron Fearne (interim) Ron Sanchez (left to join Virginia staff)
North Texas Ross Hodge (promoted) Grant McCasland (left for Texas Tech)
South Florida Amir Abdur-Rahim (story) Brian Gregory (fired)
Temple Adam Fisher (story) Aaron McKie (resigned)
Wichita State Paul Mills (story) Isaac Brown (fired)
ACC Georgia Tech Damon Stoudamire (story) Josh Pastner (fired)
Notre Dame Micah Shrewsberry (story) Mike Brey (resigned)
Syracuse Adrian Autry (story) Jim Boeheim (retired)
America East Bryant Phil Martelli Jr. (story) Jared Grasso (resigned)
New Hampshire Nathan Davis (story) Bill Herrion (fired)
NJIT Grant Billmeier (story) Brian Kennedy (resigned)
ASUN Austin Peay Corey Gipson (story) Nate James (fired)
Kennesaw State Antoine Pettway (story) Amir Abdur-Rahim (left for USF)
Atlantic 10 George Mason Tony Skinn (story) Kim English (left for Providence)
VCU Ryan Odom (story) Mike Rhoades (left for Penn State)
Big 12 Texas Rodney Terry (story) Chris Beard (fired)
Texas Tech Grant McCasland (story) Mark Adams (resigned)
West Virginia Josh Eilert (interim) Bob Huggins (resigned)
Big East Georgetown Ed Cooley (story) Patrick Ewing (parted ways)
Providence Kim English (story) Ed Cooley (left for Georgetown)
St. John’s Rick Pitino (story) Mike Anderson (fired)
Big Sky Idaho Alex Pribble (story) Zac Claus (fired)
Montana State Matt Logie (story) Danny Sprinkle (left for Utah State)
Big South High Point Alan Huss (story) G.G. Smith (fired)
Big Ten Penn State Mike Rhoades (story) Micah Shrewsberry (left for Notre Dame)
Big West Cal State Northridge Andy Newman (story) Trent Johnson (resigned)
CAA North Carolina A&T Monté Ross (story) Phillip Shumpert (interim)
Conference USA New Mexico State Jason Hooten (story) Greg Heiar (fired)
Sam Houston State Chris Mudge (story) Jason Hooten (left for New Mex St)
Western Kentucky Steve Lutz (story) Rick Stansbury (resigned)
Horizon League Green Bay Sundance Wicks (story) Will Ryan (fired)
MAAC Fairfield Chris Casey (interim) Jay Young (resigned)
Iona Tobin Anderson (story) Rick Pitino (left for St. John’s)
Manhattan John Gallagher (story) RaShawn Stores (interim)
Quinnipiac Tom Pecora (promoted) Baker Dunleavy (stepped down)
MAC Bowling Green Todd Simon (story) Michael Huger (fired)
Buffalo George Halcovage (story) Jim Whitesell (fired)
MEAC Coppin State Larry Stewart (story) Juan Dixon (fired)
Missouri Valley Valparaiso Roger Powell Jr. (story) Matt Lottich (fired)
Mountain West Utah State Danny Sprinkle (story) Ryan Odom (left for VCU)
NEC Fairleigh Dickinson Jack Castleberry (promoted) Tobin Anderson (left for Iona)
Patriot League American Duane Simpkins (story) Mike Brennan (fired)
Army Kevin Kuwik (story) Jimmy Allen (fired)
Bucknell John Griffin III (story) Nathan Davis (fired)
Holy Cross Dave Paulsen (story) Brett Nelson (fired)
Lafayette Mike McGarvey (story) Mike Jordan (fired)
Pac-12 California Mark Madsen (story) Mark Fox (fired)
SEC Ole Miss Chris Beard (story) Kermit Davis (fired)
SoCon East Tennessee State Brooks Savage (story) Desmond Oliver (fired)
Wofford Dwight Perry (story) Jay McAuley (resigned)
Southland Incarnate Word Shane Heirman (story) Carson Cunningham (fired)
McNeese Will Wade (story) John Aiken (fired)
Nicholls Tevon Saddler (story) Austin Claunch (left for Alabama)
Northwestern State Rick Cabrera (story) Corey Gipson (left for Austin Peay)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Jim Shaw (promoted) Steve Lutz (left for Western Ky)
Summit League Oral Roberts Russell Springmann (promoted) Paul Mills (left for Wichita State)
Western Illinois Chad Boudreau (promoted) Rob Jeter (left for Southern Utah)
Sun Belt Arkansas State Bryan Hodgson (story) Mike Balado (fired)
Georgia Southern Charlie Henry (story) Brian Burg (fired)
SWAC Southern Kevin Johnson (story) Sean Woods (fired)
WAC Southern Utah Rob Jeter (story) Todd Simon (left for BGSU)
UT Arlington KT Turner (story) Greg Young (fired)
Utah Valley Todd Phillips (promoted) Mark Madsen (left for Cal)

** To see who may be next on the list, be sure to check out our regularly-updated Hot Seat Report. **

Check out other coaching carousel rundowns: 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 20172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 20102009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000