Everett Dean

Everett Dean (1898-1993)

Teams coached: Carleton Knights, Indiana Hoosiers, Stanford Cardinal
Carleton record: 46-4 (.920)
Indiana record: 162-93 (.635)
Stanford record: 167-120 (.582)
Overall record: 375-217 (.633)

Career Accomplishments:


  • NABC Golden Anniversary Award (1985)
  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (inducted 1966)
  • National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame (inducted 2006)

Coaching Career (head coach, unless noted):

1938-1951 Stanford
1924-1938 Indiana
1921-1924 Carleton

Everett Dean Facts

  • Everett S. Dean
  • Born March 18, 1898
  • Died October 26, 1993
  • Hometown: Livonia, Indiana
  • Alma Mater: Indiana University (BA, 1921)
  • Played baseball and basketball at Indiana, the latter under head coached Dana Evans, Ewald O. Stiehm and George Levis
    • Was an All-American in 1921, becoming Indiana’s first basketball player to earn such honors
  • After graduating from IU, Dean became the head coach at Carleton College (MN), then at the highest NCAA level
    • Dean was 46-4 in three years at Carleton, including a 15-0 record in 1924 to win the Midwest Conference title
  • Dean returned to IU in 1924 to serve as the Hoosiers new basketball coach
    • Won 162 games and three Big Ten titles in 14 seasons as the head coach at his alma mater
    • Also coached the Indiana baseball team from 1925-1938
  • Left Indiana for Stanford in 1938, coaching the basketball team there for eleven seasons (no team in 1944, 1945)
    • Led the Cardinal to win the 1942 NCAA National Championship, defeating Dartmouth in the title game
    • In his final season as a basketball coach, Dean also coached the Stanford baseball team
      • Coached baseball for four more years at Stanford before retiring in 1955
  • Only coach that is a member of both the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the College Baseball Hall of Fame; was also inducted into the inaugural class of the College Basketball Hall of Fame

Everett Dean Coaching Tree

  • Forddy Anderson (Michigan State, Bradley, Drake)
  • Howie Dallmar (Stanford, Penn)
  • Ken Gunning (Wichita State, Western New Mexico)
  • Bebe Lee (Colorado, Colorado A&M, Utah State)
  • Branch McCracken (Indiana, Ball State)
  • Jay McCreary (LSU, DePauw)
  • Jim Pollard (Minnesota Muskies, Miami Floridians, Chicago Packers, Minneapolis Lakers, La Salle)