Greg Kampe

Greg Kampe (born December 5, 1955)

Current position: Head men’s basketball coach
Current team: Oakland Golden Grizzlies
Current conference: Horizon League
Oakland record^: 699-537 (.566)
Overall record^: 699-537 (.566)

Career Accomplishments:


Coaching Career (head coach, unless noted):

1984-present Oakland
1978-1984 Toledo (asst)

Greg Kampe Facts

  • Greg Charles Kampe
  • Born December 5, 1955
  • Hometown: Defiance, Ohio
  • Alma Mater: Bowling Green State University (BA, 1978) / University of Toledo (MA, 1979)
  • The Ohio-native played at Bowling Green for head coaches Pat Haley and John Weinert
    • Also played cornerback and special teams for the BGSU football team
  • Started his coaching career after undergrad, spending six seasons as an assistant to long-time Toledo head coach Bob Nichols
  • Hired in 1984 to become the head coach at Oakland University, then a Division II program
    • Went to four NCAA D-II Tournaments, including a Sweet Sixteen berth in 1997, and won two Great Lakes (GLIAC) titles
    • Since making the move to Division I program in 1999, Kampe has led the Grizzlies to three NCAA Tournaments, one NIT, four CITs and a runner-up finish in the inaugural Vegas 16
    • Won three Summit League Tournaments and three regular season titles, sweeping both in 2010 and 2011
    • Led the Grizzlies to a shared Horizon League title in 2017, the program’s first since joining the league in 2013; won the Horizon title outright for the first time in 2024 and the Horizon Tournament to get back into the NCAA Tournament
  • Kampe is the third-longest tenured head coach currently in Division I men’s basketball, behind Syracuse‘s Jim Boeheim (hired in 1976) and Duke‘s Mike Krzyzewski (hired in 1980)
  • Along with his wife, Sue, has three sons

Greg Kampe Coaching Tree

  • Michael Malone (Denver Nuggets, Sacramento Kings)
  • Cornell Mann (Grand Valley State)
  • Dwayne Stephens (Western Michigan)
  • Drew Valentine (Loyola IL)


^ Oakland & Overall records includes seasons at both the Division I and Division II level