List of NCAA Division III National Champions

List of NCAA Division III National Champions

The first NCAA Division III Basketball Tournament, took place in 1975 and featured 30 teams broken out into 8 regional groups. NCAA Division III was created in 1973, when what was known as the NCAA College Division was split into two separate groups (Division II and Division III) while the University Division was renamed Division I. The differentiator between Division II and III was the ability to offer athletic scholarship, which Division III schools (of which there are over 400) are not allowed to do.

Over the years, the format of the Division III Tournament has changed several times. The current tournament is a single-elimination format featuring 64 teams in 4 16-team sectionals, with the first two rounds being played at campus sites. Automatic bids are awarded to the champion of each of the 43 Division III conferences, while the remaining 21 bids are awarded at-large. Once the field narrowed down to 16, the highest-ranked team remaining in each sectional hosts the semifinal and final match-ups. The Final Four consists of the four sectional champions meeting at a predetermined neutral site to determine the champions.

Below is a list of NCAA Division III National Champions, Runners-Up, Final Four participants and coaches for each team:

Year National Champion / Coach Runner-Up / Coach Final Four / Coaches
1975 LeMoyne-Owen Glassboro State Augustana (IL) Brockport
Jerry Johnson Jack Collins Jim Borcherding Mauro Panaggio
1976 Scranton Wittenberg Augustana (IL) Plattsburgh State
Bob Bessoir Bob Hamilton Jim Borcherding Norm Law
1977 Wittenberg Oneonta State Scranton Hamline
Larry Hunter F. Don Flewelling Bob Bessoir unknown
1978 North Park Widener Albion Stony Brook
Dan McCarrell C. Alan Rowe Mike Turner Ron Bash
1979 North Park (2) SUNY Potsdam Franklin & Marshall Centre
Dan McCarrell (2) Jerry Welsh Glenn Robinson Tom Bryant
1980 North Park (3) Upsala Wittenberg Longwood
Dan McCarrell (3) Eddie Lyons Larry Hunter Ron Bash
1981 SUNY Potsdam Augustana (IL) Ursinus Otterbein
Jerry Welsh Jim Borcherding Skip Werley Dick Reynolds
1982 Wabash SUNY Potsdam Brooklyn Stanislaus State
Mac Petty Jerry Welsh Mark Reiner Doug Sanderson
1983 Scranton (2) Wittenberg Roanoke Wisconsin-Whitewater
Bob Bessoir (2) Larry Hunter Ed Green Dave Vander Meulen
1984 Wisconsin-Whitewater Clark (MA) DePauw Upsala
Dave Vander Meulen Wally Halas Mike Steele Eddie Lyons
1985 North Park (4) Potsdam State Nebraska Wesleyan Widener
Bosko Djurickovic Jerry Welsh Jerry Schmutte C. Alan Rowe
1986 Potsdam State (2) LeMoyne-Owen Nebraska Wesleyan New Jersey City
Jerry Welsh (2) Jerry Johnson Jerry Schmutte Charles Brown
1987 North Park (5) Clark (MA) Wittenberg Richard Stockton
Bosko Djurickovic (2) Wally Halas Larry Hunter Gerry Matthews
1988 Ohio Wesleyan Scranton Nebraska Wesleyan Hartwick
Gene Mehaffey Bob Bessoir Jerry Schmutte Nick Lambros
1989 Wisconsin-Whitewater (2) Trenton State Southern Maine Centre
Dave Vander Meulen (2) Kevin Bannon Bob Brown Tom Bryant
1990 Rochester DePauw Washington College Calvin
Mike Neer Royce Waltman Tom Finnegan Ed Douma
1991 Wisconsin-Platteville Franklin & Marshall Otterbein Ramapo
Bo Ryan Glenn Robinson Dick Reynolds Todd Meyer
1992 Calvin Rochester Wisconsin-Platteville New Jersey City
Ed Douma Mike Neer Bo Ryan Charles Brown
1993 Ohio Northern Augustana (IL) Rowan UMass-Dartmouth
Joe Campoli Steve Yount John Giannini Brian Baptiste
1994 Lebanon Valley NYU Wittenberg St. Thomas
Pat Flannery Joe Nesci Bill L. Brown Steve Fritz
1995 Wisconsin-Platteville (2) Manchester (IN) Rowan Trinity (CT)
Bo Ryan (2) Steve Alford John Giannini Stan Ogrodnik
1996 Rowan Hope Illinois Wesleyan Franklin & Marshall
John Giannini Glenn Van Wieren Dennie Bridges Glenn Robinson
1997 Illinois Wesleyan Nebraska Wesleyan Williams Alvernia
Dennie Bridges Todd Raridon Harry Sheehy Jack McCloskey
1998 Wisconsin-Platteville (3) Hope Williams Wilkes
Bo Ryan (3) Glenn Van Wieren Harry Sheehy Jerry Rickrode
1999 Wisconsin-Platteville (4) Hampden-Sydney Connecticut College William Paterson
Bo Ryan (4) Tony Shaver Glen Miller Jose Rembimbas
2000 Calvin (2) Wisconsin-Eau Claire Salem State Franklin & Marshall
Kevin Vande Streek Terry Gibbons Brian Meehan Glenn Robinson
2001 Catholic William Paterson Illinois Wesleyan Ohio Northern
Mike Lonergan Jose Rembimbas Dennie Bridges Joe Campoli
2002 Otterbein Elizabethtown Carthage Rochester
Dick Reynolds Bob Schlosser Bosko Djurickovic Mike Neer
2003 Williams Gustavus Adolphus Wooster Hampden-Sydney
Dave Paulsen Mark Hanson Steve Moore Tony Shaver
2004 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Williams John Carroll Amherst
Jack Bennett Dave Paulsen Mike Moran David Hixon
2005 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (2) Rochester Calvin York (PA)
Jack Bennett (2) Mike Neer Kevin Vande Streek Jeff Gamber
2006 Virginia Wesleyan Wittenberg Illinois Wesleyan Amherst
Dave Macedo Bill L. Brown Scott Trost David Hixon
2007 Amherst Virginia Wesleyan Washington-St. Louis Wooster
David Hixon Dave Macedo Mark Edwards Steve Moore
2008 Washington-St. Louis Amherst Hope Ursinus
Mark Edwards David Hixon Glenn Van Wieren Kevin Small
2009 Washington-St. Louis (2) Richard Stockton Guilford Franklin & Marshall
Mark Edwards (2) Gerry Matthews Tom Palombo Glenn Robinson
2010 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (3) Williams Guilford Randolph-Macon
Bob Semling Mike Maker Tom Palombo Nathan Davis
2011 St. Thomas Wooster Middlebury Williams
Steve Fritz Steve Moore Jeff Brown Mike Maker
2012 Wisconsin-Whitewater (3) Cabrini Illinois Wesleyan MIT
Pat Miller Marcus Kahn Ron Rose Larry Anderson
2013 Amherst (2) Mary Hardin-Baylor St. Thomas North Central (IL)
David Hixon (2) Ken DeWeese Johnny Tauer Todd Raridon
2014 Wisconsin-Whitewater (4) Williams Amherst Illinois Wesleyan
Pat Miller (2) Mike Maker David Hixon Ron Rose
2015 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (4) Augustana (IL) Babson Virginia Wesleyan
Bob Semling (2) Grey Giovanine Stephen Brennan Dave Macedo
2016 St. Thomas (2) Benedictine Christopher Newport Amherst
Johnny Tauer Keith Bunkenburg John Krikorian David Hixon
2017 Babson Augustana (IL) Whitman Williams
Stephen Brennan Grey Giovanine Eric Bridgeland Kevin App
2018 Nebraska Wesleyan Wisconsin-Oshkosh Ramapo Springfield
Dale Wellman Pat Juckem Chuck McBreen Charlie Brock
2019 Wisconsin-Oshkosh Swarthmore Christopher Newport Wheaton (IL)
Matt Lewis Landry Kosmalski John Krikorian Mike Schauer
2020 tournament cancelled
due to COVID-19 pandemic
tournament cancelled
due to COVID-19 pandemic
Randolph-Macon Elmhurst Marietta Wabash
Josh Merkel John Baines Jon VanderWal Kyle Brumett
Christopher Newport Mount Union Wisconsin-Whitewater Swarthmore
John Krikorian Mike Fuline Pat Miller Landry Kosmalski
Trine Hampden-Sydney Trinity (CT) Guilford
Brooks Miller Caleb Kimbrough James Cosgrove Tom Palombo

** these appearances were later vacated by the NCAA, and therefore are not counted towards either the team’s or coach’s totals


<< Awards & Championships >>

Division I Postseason Tournaments: NCAA Tournament | NIT | CBI | CIT

Other National Champions: NCAA Division II | NCAA Division III | NAIA Division I