NABC Golden Anniversary Award

List of NABC Golden Anniversary Award winners

Every year since 1981 (plus 1977 & 1978), the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has honored one coach with the NABC Golden Anniversary Award, recognizing their lifetime contributions to the game of basketball. The award is named after the “golden anniversary,” honoring coaches who have devoted at least 50 years to the sport.

Year Coach School(s)
1977 Eddie Hickey Creighton, Saint Louis, Marquette
1978 Glen Rose Arkansas
1981 Harry Litwack Temple
1982 Jack Gardner Kansas State, Utah
1983 Ozzie Cowles Carleton, River Falls State, Dartmouth, Michigan, Minnesota
1984 John Wooden Indiana State, UCLA
1985 Everett Dean Carleton, Indiana, Stanford
1986 Tony Hinkle Butler
1987 Howard Hobson Southern Oregon, Oregon, Yale
1988 Henry Iba NW Missouri State, Colorado, Oklahoma State
1989 Frank McGuire St. John’s, North Carolina, South Carolina
1990 Stan Watts BYU
1991 Pete Newell San Francisco, Michigan State, California
1992 Ray Meyer DePaul
1993 Clarence Gaines Winston-Salem State
1994 Ben Carnevale North Carolina, Navy
1995 Marv Harshman Pacific Lutheran, Washington StateWashington
1996 Ray Mears Wittenberg, Tennessee
1997 Ralph Miller Wichita State, Iowa, Oregon State
1998 Guy Lewis Houston
1999 Tex Winter MarquetteKansas St, Washington, NorthwesternLong Beach St
2000 Johnny Orr UMass, Michigan, Iowa State
2001 Jud Heathcote MontanaMichigan State
2002 Abe Lemons Oklahoma City, Texas-Pan American, Texas
2003 Lefty Driesell Davidson, Maryland, James Madison, Georgia State
2004 Don Haskins UTEP
2005 Joe Vancisin Yale, NABC
2006 Jim Phelan Mount St. Mary’s
2007 John Chaney Cheyney State,Temple
2008 Lou Henson Hardin-Simmons, New Mexico State, Illinois
2009 Dale Brown LSU
2010 Gene Keady Western Kentucky, Purdue
2011 Norm Stewart Northern Iowa, Missouri
2012 Rollie Massimino Stony Brook, Villanova, UNLV, Cleveland State, Northwood
2013 Denny Crum Louisville
2014 Glenn Wilkes Stetson
2015 Lonnie Porter Regis
2016 Billy Tubbs Lamar, Oklahoma, TCU
2017 Lute Olson Long Beach State, Iowa, Arizona
2018 Homer Drew Bethel, Indiana-South Bend, Valparaiso
2019 Harry Statham McKendree
2020 none
2021 Herb Magee Philadelphia Textile / Philadelphia / Jefferson

< NABC Golden Anniversary Award >

<< Awards & Championships >>

Exit mobile version