Pete Newell Big Man Award

List of Pete Newell Big Man Award winners

Every year since 2000, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has awarded the Pete Newell Big Man Award to recognize the most outstanding Division I low-post player of the season. The award is named after the late Pete Newell, who was the head coach at California, Michigan State and San Francisco and ran the “Pete Newell Big Man Camp” from 1976 until his death in 2008. Iowa‘s Luka Garza is the only two-time winner of the award (2020, 2021), while Duke and Purdue are the programs with the most winners (three each).

Year Player(s) School(s)
2000 Marcus Fizer Iowa State
2001 Jason Collins Stanford
2002 Drew Gooden Kansas
2003 David West Xavier
2004 Emeka Okafor Connecticut
2005 Andrew Bogut Utah
2006 Glen Davis LSU
2007 Greg Oden Ohio State
2008 Michael Beasley Kansas State
2009 Blake Griffin Oklahoma
2010 Greg Monroe Georgetown
2011 JaJuan Johnson Purdue
2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky
2013 Mason Plumlee Duke
2014 Patric Young Florida
2015 Jahlil Okafor Duke (2)
2016 Jakob Pöltl Utah (2)
2017 Caleb Swanigan Purdue (2)
2018 Marvin Bagley III Duke (3)
2019 Ethan Happ Wisconsin
2020 Luka Garza Iowa
2021 Luka Garza (2) Iowa (2)
2022 Oscar Tshiebwe Kentucky (2)
2023 Zach Edey Purdue (3)

< Pete Newell Big Man Award >

<< Awards & Championships >>