Phil Knight Invitational Champions

Phil Knight Invitational/Legacy Champions

Full list of Phil Knight Invitational (PKI) and Phil Knight Legacy champions, including head coach, by year. The Phil Knight Invitational (PKI) and Phil Knight Legacy are early season Division I men’s college basketball tournaments that take place semi-annually in late November. The first event in November 2017 was known as the PK-80, in honor of Nike founder Phil Knight’s upcoming 80th birthday. A total of 16 teams participated in two brackets (named Victory and Motion) to ensure that members of the same conference did not play each other. tarting in 2021, there are two separate four-team brackets and therefore two champions. The 2019 event was a two-game showcase (Oregon and Oklahoma were winners). The 2022 event went back to the two separate tournament model, this time naming the events the Phil Knight Invitational (PKI) and the Phil Knight Legacy.

All games are played in Portland, Oregon (home to Nike), specifically at the Moda Center, Veterans Memorial Coliseum and Rose Quarter. All of the participant schools have an affiliation with the Nike brand.

Year Champion Head Coach
2017 (Victory Bracket) Michigan State Tom Izzo
2017 (Motion Bracket) Duke Mike Krzyzewski
2022 (Invitational) UConn Dan Hurley
2022 (Legacy) Purdue Matt Painter

< Phil Knight Invitational Champions >

<< Early Season Tournament Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>