South Padre Island Invitational Champions

South Padre Island Invitational Champions

Full list of South Padre Island Invitational champions, including head coach, by year. The South Padre Island Invitational was an early season Division I men’s college basketball tournament that was held annually in late November from 2005 through 2012. Eight programs would meet in South Padre Island, Texas to play in a pair of four-team bracketed tournament and crown two champions (an Upper Bracket champion and Lower Bracket champion). Teams that lost went into consolation rounds, so every team was guaranteed to play in two games during the event. Tournament games were hosted at the South Padre Island Convention Centre. Champions below represent the winner of the Upper Bracket.

Year Champion Head Coach
2005 Illinois Bruce Weber
2006 Oklahoma State Sean Sutton
2007 Vanderbilt Kevin Stallings
2008 Illinois (2) Bruce Weber (2)
2009 Richmond Chris Mooney
2010 BYU Dave Rose
2011* Iowa State Fred Hoiberg
Northern Iowa Ben Jacobson
2012 Northwestern Bill Carmody

* the 2011 Upper Bracket was not a tournament, but rather a pair of Third Round and Championship Round games


< South Padre Island Invitational Champions >

<< Early Season Tournament Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>