The Legends of Coaching Award

List of The Legends of Coaching Award winners

Every year since 1999, the John R. Wooden Award Committee has honored one coach with The John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Award, recognizing his or her lifetime achievements in college basketball. The award is named after John Wooden, the Hall of Fame head coach of the UCLA Bruins who won a record ten NCAA National Championships. The Committee has also selected coaches from women’s college basketball, starting with Tennessee‘s Pat Summitt in 2008. When selecting a coach, the Committee “considers a coach’s character, success rate on the court, graduating rate of student athletes, coaching philosophy and identification with the goals of the John R. Wooden Award.”

Year Coach School
1999 Dean Smith North Carolina
2000 Mike Krzyzewski Duke
2001 Lute Olson Arizona, Iowa, Long Beach State
2002 Denny Crum Louisville
2003 Roy Williams Kansas
2004 Mike Montgomery Stanford, Montana
2005 Jim Calhoun Connecticut, Northeastern
2006 Jim Boeheim Syracuse
2007 Gene Keady Purdue, Western Kentucky
2008 Pat Summitt Tennessee (women’s)
2009 Rick Barnes Texas, Clemson, Providence, George Mason
2010 Billy Donovan Florida, Marshall
2011 Tom Izzo Michigan State
2012 Geno Auriemma Connecticut (women’s)
2013 Bill Self Kansas, Illinois, Tulsa
2014 Tara VanDerveer Stanford, Ohio State, Idaho (women’s)
2015 Steve Fisher San Diego State, Michigan
2016 Tubby Smith Texas Tech, Minnesota, Kentucky, Georgia, Tulsa
2017 Muffett McGraw Notre Dame, Lehigh (women’s)
2018 Jay Wright Villanova, Hofstra
2019 Lon Kruger Oklahoma, UNLV, Illinois, Florida, Kansas St, UTPA
2020 C. Vivian Stringer Rutgers (women’s)
2021 Dave Yanai Cal State Dominguez Hills, Cal State Los Angeles
2022 Rick Byrd Belmont, Lincoln Memorial, Maryville
2023 Dawn Staley South Carolina (women’s), Temple (women’s)
2024 John Calipari Kentucky, Memphis, UMass

< The Legends of Coaching Award >

<< Awards & Championships >>