Puerto Rico Tip-Off Champions

Puerto Rico Tip-Off Champions

Full list of Puerto Rico Tip-Off champions, including head coach, by year. The Puerto Rico Tip-Off was an early season Division I men’s college basketball tournament that was held annually in November from 2007 through 2017. Eight programs would meet in Puerto Rico to play in a bracketed tournament and crown a champions . Teams that lost went into consolation rounds, so every team was guaranteed to play in three games during the event. In later years, campus round games were added ahead of the main tournament. The Puerto Rico games were hosted at José Miguel Agrelot Coliseum (2007-11), Colieso Rubén Rodríguez (2012) and Roberto Clemente Coliseum (2013-15).

In 2016, due to an outbreak of the Zika virus in Puerto Rico, the event was renamed the Tire Pros Invitational and hosted at HP Field House at Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Florida. The event was scheduled to return to the island in 2017, but plans changed due to damage left over from Hurricane Maria and the event was moved to the HTC Center in Conway, South Carolina (the home arena of Coastal Carolina). Since 2018, the Myrtle Beach Invitational has been held at the HTC Center and the Puerto Rico Tip-Off has not resumed.

Year Champion Head Coach
2007 Miami (FL) Frank Haith
2008 Xavier Chris Mack
2009 Villanova Jay Wright
2010 Minnesota Tubby Smith
2011 Alabama Anthony Grant
2012 Oklahoma State Travis Ford
2013 Charlotte Alan Major
2014 West Virginia Bob Huggins
2015 Miami (FL) (2) Jim Larrañaga
2016 Xavier (2) Chris Mack (2)
2017 Iowa State Steve Prohm

< Puerto Rico Tip-Off Champions >

<< Early Season Tournament Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>