Big Ten Men’s Basketball Coaches

Big Ten basketball programs and current men’s head coaches

Initially formed in 1896, the conference was officially incorporated in 1905 as the Intercollegiate Conference Athletic Association, initially featuring Illinois, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue, Wisconsin, Michigan and Chicago. Those seven were joined by Indiana and Iowa in 1899, then by Ohio State in 1912. The conference was for the first time known as the Big Ten in 1917, when Michigan rejoined to create a ten-team league. The University of Chicago, a charter member, de-emphasized its athletic programs and withdrew from the conference in 1946, causing the conference to return to the Big Nine name until Michigan State joined in 1949. The membership stayed this way until 1990, when football powerhouse Penn State joined and increased the size to 11. The Big Ten name continued to be used despite this and continues today while the membership has grown to 14 schools (with the addition of Nebraska, Maryland and Rutgers).

School Current Coach Years
Illinois Fighting Illini Brad Underwood 2017-
Indiana Hoosiers Mike Woodson 2021-
Iowa Hawkeyes Fran McCaffery 2010-
Maryland Terrapins Kevin Willard 2022-
Michigan Wolverines Dusty May 2024-
Michigan State Spartans Tom Izzo 1995-
Minnesota Golden Gophers Ben Johnson 2021-
Nebraska Cornhuskers Fred Hoiberg 2019-
Northwestern Wildcats Chris Collins 2013-
Ohio State Buckeyes Jake Diebler 2024-
Oregon Ducks Dana Altman 2010-
Penn State Nittany Lions Mike Rhoades 2023-
Purdue Boilermakers Matt Painter 2005-
Rutgers Scarlet Knights Steve Pikiell 2016-
UCLA Bruins Mick Cronin 2019-
USC Trojans Eric Musselman 2024-
Washington Huskies Danny Sprinkle 2024-
Wisconsin Badgers Greg Gard 2015-