Charleston Classic Champions

Charleston Classic Champions

Full list of Charleston Classic champions, including head coach, by year. The Charleston Classic is an early season Division I men’s college basketball tournament that has taken place annually since 2008. The tournament, which usually takes place the week before Thanksgiving, is played at TD Arena in Charleston, SC, home of the College of Charleston Cougars. It has a bracketed tournament format in which every team plays the same number of games but only one is crowned champion.

Year Champion Head Coach
2008 Clemson Oliver Purnell
2009 Miami (FL) Frank Haith
2010 Georgetown John Thompson III
2011 Northwestern Bill Carmody
2012 Colorado Tad Boyle
2013 UMass Derek Kellogg
2014 Miami (FL) (2) Jim Larrañaga
2015 Virginia Tony Bennett
2016 Villanova Jay Wright
2017 Temple Fran Dunphy
2018 Virginia Tech Buzz Williams
2019 Florida Mike White
2020 cancelled cancelled
2021 St. Bonaventure Mark Schmidt
2022 College of Charleston  Pat Kelsey
2023 Houston Kelvin Sampson

<  Charleston Classic Champions >

<< Early Season Tournament Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>