Utah Tech Trailblazers basketball

Utah Tech Trailblazers basketball history

Utah Tech University (St. George, UT)
Burns Arena
Western Athletic Conference (WAC)

Current head coach: Jon Judkins (2005-)

  • Assoc. HC: Jake Schroeder (2006-13, 2019-)
  • Asst: Anthony Morris (2021-)
  • Asst: Gibson Johnson (2022-)
  • Asst/DBO: Brock Staheli (2023-)


  • National Championships:  0
  • Final Four Appearances:  0
  • Sweet Sixteen Appearances:  0
  • NCAA Tournament Appearances:  0
  • NCAAT Overall Record:  0-0
  • NIT Championships:  0
  • NIT Appearances:  0
  • NIT Overall Record:  0-0
  • NCAA Division II Tournament Appearances:  (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2020)
  • NCAA Division II Tournament Overall Record:  2-8

Conference Titles (PacWest, RMAC, WAC):

Award Winners:

Utah Tech head coaches:

Coach Tenure Record Conf. Titles NCAA Apps. Nat. Champ
Jon Judkins 2005*-Pres 311-199 8^ 9^ 0
junior college (NCJAA)* pre-2006
Dave Rose 1990-1997
Stan Watts 1941-1945

Key: Conf. Titles= Regular Season only, NCAA Apps= NCAA Tournament Appearances, Nat. Champ= NCAA Tournament Champions

^ These conference titles and tournament appearances came when the Utah Tech program was at the Division II level; UT moved up to Division I prior to the 2020-21 season

* Until 2006, Utah Tech was a junior college and members of the NJCAA (called Dixie College), so coaching records reflect NCAA seasons only

OTHER NAMES: Prior to 2022, the school was known as Dixie State. Additionally, the athletic programs were known as the “Rebels” prior to 2009 and the “Red Storm” from 2009-2016.

NOTE: Overall program records on this page do not include anything later vacated by the NCAA.