WAC Men’s Basketball Coaches

WAC basketball programs and current men’s head coaches

The WAC was originally formed in 1962, though all charter members have since left for other conferences. With a full membership of just eight programs, all of which having joined since 2005, the current version of the WAC is technically one of the newest conferences in Division I college basketball. In the early 2010’s, a series of realignments across the country led a number of WAC football powers to change conferences. By 2013, only two football-playing programs remained in the WAC (New Mexico State & Idaho), both of which played out the season as D1 Independents before leaving the conference altogether. These last moves, along with the addition of six non-football schools in 2013 resulted in the WAC dropping football as a sport. The conference’s newest members are California Baptist (joined in 2018), Utah Tech and Tarleton State (2020), Abilene ChristianSam Houston State, and Stephen F. Austin (2021), Southern Utah and UT Arlington (2022). New Mexico State and Sam Houston State exited the league in 2023 to join Conference USA, followed by UTRGV and SFA, who both left for the Southland, in 2024.

School Current Coach Years
Abilene Christian Wildcats Brette Tanner 2021-
California Baptist Lancers Rick Croy 2013-
Chicago State Cougars Gerald Gillion 2021-
Grand Canyon Antelopes Bryce Drew 2020-
Seattle Redhawks Chris Victor 2021-
Southern Utah Thunderbirds Rob Jeter 2023-
Tarleton State Texans Billy Gillispie 2020-
UT Arlington Mavericks KT Turner 2023-
Utah Tech Trailblazers Jon Judkins 2005-
Utah Valley Wolverines Todd Phillips 2023-