List of CBI Champions

List of CBI Champions

The first College Basketball Invitational (CBI) took place in 2008, as a single-elimination meant to give more teams the opportunity to play in the postseason. The CBI currently selects 16 teams that were not already selected for the NCAA Tournament or NIT. All games are held at the arena of the designated home team and the Championship series switches to a best-of-three series (with two home games for the home team). Below is a list of CBI Champions, runners-up and the head coaches for each team:

Year CBI Champion / Head Coach Runner-Up / Head Coach
2008 Tulsa Bradley
Doug Wojcik Jim Les
2009 Oregon State UTEP
Craig Robinson Tony Barbee
2010 VCU Saint Louis
Shaka Smart Rick Majerus
2011 Oregon Creighton
Dana Altman Greg McDermott
2012 Pittsburgh Washington State
Jamie Dixon Ken Bone
2013 Santa Clara George Mason
Kerry Keating Paul Hewitt
2014 Siena Fresno State
Jimmy Patsos Rodney Terry
2015 Loyola (IL) Louisiana-Monroe
Porter Moser Keith Richard
2016 Nevada Morehead State
Eric Musselman Sean Woods
2017 Wyoming Coastal Carolina
Allen Edwards Cliff Ellis
2018 North Texas San Francisco
Grant McCasland Kyle Smith
2019 South Florida DePaul
Brian Gregory Dave Leitao
tournament cancelled
due to COVID-19 pandemic
Pepperdine Coastal Carolina
Lorenzo Romar Cliff Ellis
UNC Wilmington Middle Tennessee
Takayo Siddle Nick McDevitt
Charlotte Eastern Kentucky
Ron Sanchez A.W. Hamilton
2024 Seattle High Point
Chris Victor Alan Huss

<< Awards & Championships >>

Division I Postseason Tournaments: NCAA Tournament | NIT | CBI | CIT

Other National Champions: NCAA Division II | NCAA Division III | NAIA Division I