Naismith Coach of the Year

List of Naismith Coach of the Year winners

Every year since 1987, the Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Coach of the Year Award to recognize the best men’s and best women’s college basketball coaches of the season. Since 1989, the Atlanta Tipoff Club has given out the award via a voting process (for the first two years, it was given to the head coaches of the men’s and women’s National Championship winning teams). The award is named after Dr. James Naismith, a College Basketball Hall of Fame head coach at Kansas who invented the game of basketball in 1891. Mike Krzyzewski and John Calipari have each won the award three times, while three others have won twice. See also: Naismith Player of the Year

Year Men’s Winner School
1987 Bob Knight Indiana
1988 Larry Brown Kansas
1989 Mike Krzyzewski Duke
1990 Bobby Cremins Georgia Tech
1991 Randy Ayers Ohio State
1992 Mike Krzyzewski (2) Duke (2)
1993 Dean Smith North Carolina
1994 Nolan Richardson Arkansas
1995 Jim Harrick UCLA
1996 John Calipari UMass
1997 Roy Williams Kansas (2)
1998 Bill Guthridge North Carolina (2)
1999 Mike Krzyzewski (3) Duke (3)
2000 Mike Montgomery Stanford
2001 Rod Barnes Ole Miss
2002 Ben Howland Pittsburgh
2003 Tubby Smith Kentucky
2004 Phil Martelli Saint Joseph’s
2005 Bruce Weber Illinois
2006 Jay Wright Villanova
2007 Tony Bennett Washington State
2008 John Calipari (2) Memphis
2009 Jamie Dixon Pittsburgh (2)
2010 Jim Boeheim Syracuse
2011 Steve Fisher San Diego State
2012 Bill Self Kansas (3)
2013 Jim Larrañaga Miami (FL)
2014 Gregg Marshall Wichita State
2015 John Calipari (3) Kentucky (2)
2016 Jay Wright (2) Villanova (2)
2017 Mark Few Gonzaga
2018 Tony Bennett (2) Virginia
2019 Rick Barnes Tennessee
2020 Anthony Grant Dayton
2021 Mark Few (2) Gonzaga (2)
2022 Ed Cooley Providence
2023 Jerome Tang Kansas State
2024 Dan Hurley Connecticut

< Naismith Coach of the Year >

<< Awards & Championships >>