Everett Shelton

Everett Shelton (1898-1974)

Teams coached: Phillips Haymakers, Wyoming Cowboys, Sacramento State Hornets
Wyoming record: 328-201 (.620)
Sacramento State record^: 117-118 (.498)
Overall record^: 445-319 (.582)

Career Accomplishments:


  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (inducted 1980)
  • National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame (inducted 2006)

Coaching Career (head coach, unless noted):

1959-1968 Sacramento State
1939-1959 Wyoming
1923-1926 Phillips

Everett Shelton Facts

  • Everett F. Shelton
  • Born May 12, 1898
  • Died April 16, 1974
  • Hometown: Cunningham, Kansas
  • Alma Mater: Phillips University (BA, 1923)
  • Played football and basketball at Phillips University in Enid, Oklahoma
  • Started his coaching career at his alma mater, leading the basketball team for three seasons and football team for two
    • Also served as the school’s athletic director for a brief period of time
  • Arrived at Wyoming in 1939, where he would coach the Cowboys basketball team for the next twenty seasons
    • Went 328-201 during his tenure at Wyoming, reaching the NCAA Tournament eight times
      • Led the Cowboys to championship glory in 1943, winning the program’s first and only NCAA Championship
    • Claimed eight Mountain States/Skyline titles, more than any other coach in the conference’s history
    • Also spent four seasons as the head baseball coach at Wyoming (1942, 1943, 1947, 1949)
  • Headed further West in 1959 to become the head coach at then-College Division (D-II) Sacramento State
    • Compiled a 117-118 record during his nine years with the Hornets and claimed three Far Western Conference titles
    • Went to the NCAA College Division (now D-II) Tournament in 1962, finishing as National Runner-Up
  • In addition to collegiate roles, Shelton also coached at the high school and AAU levels during his career
    • Coached the Denver Safeways – led by Hall of Famers Jack McCracken and Bob Gruenig – to an AAU National Championship in 1937
  • Inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame in 1980 and the inaugural 2006 class of the College Basketball Hall of Fame

Everett Shelton Coaching Tree

  • Jack Cotton (Adams State, Nebraska-Omaha)
  • Jimmy Darden (Denver Nuggets)
  • Benny Dees (Western Carolina, Wyoming, New Orleans, VCU)
  • Jack Heron (Sacramento State)
  • Neil McCarthy (New Mexico State, Weber State)
  • Moe Radovich (Wyoming)
  • Bill Strannigan (Wyoming, Iowa State, Colorado State)
  • Mike Todorovich (Tri-Cities Blackhawks)


^ overall record includes head coaching positions at the NCAA Division I and Division II levels only; Sacramento State was a Division II program until 1991