EIC Regular Season Champions

EIC Regular Season Champions

Full list of Eastern Intercollegiate Conference (EIC) men’s basketball regular season champions, including head coach, by year. The EIC existed four seven seasons and fluctuated between five and six members (Carnegie Tech (now Carnegie Mellon), BucknellGeorgetown, Penn StatePittsburghTemple and West Virginia). The conference existed mostly before the NCAA Tournament came to be, but in 1938 Temple won the NIT Championship. In 1939, the conference disbanded due to logistical concerns with travel and scheduling.

NOTE: There was never a men’s basketball tournament for this conference.

Season Champion(s) Head Coach(es)
1932-33 Pittsburgh Doc Carlson
1933-34 Pittsburgh (2) Doc Carlson (2)
1934-35 Pittsburgh (3) Doc Carlson (3)
West Virginia Marshall Glenn
1935-36 Carnegie Mellon Max E. Hannum
Pittsburgh (4) Doc Carlson (4)
1936-37 Pittsburgh (5) Doc Carlson (5)
Temple James Usilton
1937-38 Temple (2) James Usilton (2)
1938-39 Carnegie Mellon (2) Max E. Hannum (2)
Georgetown Elmer Ripley

< Eastern Intercollegiate (EIC) Regular Season Champions >

<< Defunct Conference Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>