Hugh Durham Award

List of Hugh Durham Award winners

Every year since 2005, has awarded the Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year Award (or simply, Hugh Durham Award) to recognize the top men’s Division I mid-major* college basketball coach of the season. The award is named after Hugh Durham, a College Hall of Famer who spent 39 years as head coach at Jacksonville, Georgia and Florida State and compiled 633 career wins.

Year Coach School
2005 Bob Thomason Pacific
2006 Pat Flannery Bucknell
2007 Gregg Marshall Winthrop
2008 Keno Davis Drake
2009 Todd Bozeman Morgan State
2010 Mike Young Wofford
2011 Rick Byrd Belmont
2012 Eddie Payne USC Upstate
2013 Danny Kaspar Stephen F. Austin
2014 Tony Jasick Fort Wayne
2015 Brian Katz Sacramento State
2016 James Jones Yale
2017 Rod Barnes Cal State Bakersfield
2018 Ryan Odom UMBC
2019 Darian DeVries Drake
2020 Steve Forbes East Tennessee State
2021 Byron Smith Prairie View A&M
2022 Robert Jones Norfolk State
2023 Amir Abdur-Rahim Kennesaw State
2024 Josh Schertz Indiana State

* has defined “mid-major” as any school from one of the following conferences (or a Division I independent): America East, ASUN, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, CAA, Horizon, Ivy, MAAC, MAC, MEAC, MVC, NEC, OVC, Patriot, SoCon, Southland, SWAC, Summit, Sun Belt, WCC & WAC.

< Hugh Durham Award>

<< Awards & Championships >>