Jimmy V Classic Winners

Jimmy V Classic Winners

Full list of Jimmy V Classic winners, including head coach, by year. The Jimmy V Classic is an early season Division I men’s college basketball event that has taken place annually in December since 1995. Four teams play in a double-header showcase event, organized by ESPN Events to raise money and awareness for cancer research. The event’s namesake – long-time collegiate coach Jim Valvano – created the Jimmy V Foundation before passing away from cancer in 1993. After originally being hosted at the Meadowlands Arena in East Rutherford, NJ, the event moved to its current location, Madison Square Garden, in 2003.

Year Winners Head Coaches
1995 Temple John Chaney
UMass John Calipari
1996 California Ben Braun
North Carolina Dean Smith
1997 Princeton Bill Carmody
Clemson Rick Barnes
1998 Purdue Gene Keady
Duke Mike Krzyzewski
1999 Indiana Bob Knight
Florida Billy Donovan
2000 Virginia Pete Gillen
Michigan State Tom Izzo
2001 Duke (2) Mike Krzyzewski (2)
Alabama Mark Gottfried
2002 Gonzaga Mark Few
Cincinnati Bob Huggins
2003 Providence Tim Welsh
Arizona Lute Olson
2004 Pittsburgh Jamie Dixon
Oklahoma State Eddie Sutton
2005 Saint Joseph’s Phil Martelli
Michigan State (2) Tom Izzo (2)
2006 Oklahoma State (2) Sean Sutton
Arizona (2) Lute Olson (2)
2007 Memphis John Calipari (2)
Notre Dame Mike Brey
2008 Davidson Bob McKillop
Texas Rick Barnes (2)
2009 Indiana (2) Tom Crean
Georgetown John Thompson III
2010 Kansas Bill Self
Syracuse Jim Boeheim
2011 Missouri Frank Haith
Marquette Buzz Williams
2012 Georgetown (2) John Thompson III (2)
NC State Mark Gottfried (2)
2013 Cincinnati (2) Mick Cronin
Florida (2) Billy Donovan (2)
2014 Villanova Jay Wright
Louisville Rick Pitino
2015 Virginia (2) Tony Bennett
Maryland Mark Turgeon
2016 Purdue (2) Matt Painter
Duke (3) Mike Krzyzewski (3)
2017 Villanova (2) Jay Wright (2)
Syracuse (2) Jim Boeheim (2)
2018 Oklahoma Lon Kruger
Florida (3) Mike White
2019 Texas Tech Chris Beard
Indiana (3) Archie Miller
2020^ Gonzaga (2) Mark Few (2)
Baylor Scott Drew
2021 Texas Tech (2) Mark Adams
Villanova (3) Jay Wright (3)
2022 Illinois Brad Underwood
Duke (4) Jon Scheyer
2023 Illinois (2) Brad Underwood (2)
Connecticut Dan Hurley

^ due to COVID restrictions, the 2020 games were held at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, IN


< Jimmy V Classic Winners >

<< Early Season Tournament Champions >>

<<< Awards & Championships >>>