WAC Men’s Basketball Coaches

WAC basketball programs and current men’s head coaches

The WAC was originally formed in 1962, though all charter members have since left for other conferences. With a full membership of just eight programs, all of which having joined since 2005, the current version of the WAC is technically one of the newest conferences in Division I college basketball. In the early 2010’s, a series of realignments across the country led a number of WAC football powers to change conferences. By 2013, only two football-playing programs remained in the WAC (New Mexico State & Idaho), both of which played out the season as D1 Independents before leaving the conference altogether. These last moves, along with the addition of six non-football schools in 2013 resulted in the WAC dropping football as a sport. The conference’s newest members are California Baptist (joined in 2018), Utah Tech and Tarleton State (2020), Abilene ChristianSam Houston State, and Stephen F. Austin (2021), Southern Utah and Texas-Arlington (2022).

School Current Coach Years
Abilene Christian Wildcats Brette Tanner 2021-
California Baptist Lancers Rick Croy 2013-
Chicago State Cougars Gerald Gillion 2021-
Grand Canyon Antelopes Bryce Drew 2020-
New Mexico State Aggies Greg Heiar 2022-
Sam Houston State Bearkats Jason Hooten 2010-
Seattle Redhawks Chris Victor 2021-
Southern Utah Thunderbirds Todd Simon 2016-
Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks Kyle Keller 2016-
Tarleton State Texans Billy Gillispie 2020-
Texas-Arlington Mavericks Greg Young 2021-
Utah Tech Trailblazers Jon Judkins 2005-
Utah Valley Wolverines Mark Madsen 2019-
UTRGV Vaqueros Matt Figger 2021-