Coaching Carousel 2006

Coaching Carousel 2006: Updating list of Division I Basketball Coaching Changes (2005-06 Season / 2006 Off-Season)

Conference School New Coach Previous Coach
ACC NC State Sidney Lowe Herb Sendek (left for Arizona St)
America East Hartford Dan Leibovitz Larry Harrison (fired)
Atlantic 10 Duquesne Ron Everhart Danny Nee (resigned)
Temple Fran Dunphy John Chaney (retired)
Big 12 Iowa State Greg McDermott Wayne Morgan (fired)
Kansas State Bob Huggins Jim Wooldridge (fired)
Missouri Mike Anderson Quin Snyder (resigned)
Nebraska Doc Sadler Barry Collier (resigned)
Oklahoma Jeff Capel III Kelvin Sampson (left for Indiana)
Oklahoma State Sean Sutton Eddie Sutton (resigned)
Big East Cincinnati Mick Cronin Andy Kennedy (left for Ole Miss)
Rutgers Fred Hill Gary Waters (resigned)
Seton Hall Bobby Gonzalez Louis Orr (fired)
Big Sky Idaho State Joe O’Brien Doug Oliver (retired)
Montana Wayne Tinkle Larry Krystkowiak (left for NBA)
Montana State Brad Huse Mick Durham (resigned)
Northern Colorado Tad Boyle Craig Rasmuson (resigned)
Weber State Randy Rahe Joe Cravens (fired)
Big Ten Indiana Kelvin Sampson Mike Davis (resigned)
Big West UC Riverside Vonn Webb (interim) David Spencer (resigned)
CAA Delaware Monté Ross David Henderson (fired)
Northeastern Bill Coen Ron Everhart (left for Duquesne)
UNC Wilmington Benny Moss Brad Brownell (left for Wright State)
VCU Anthony Grant Jeff Capel III (left for Oklahoma)
Conference USA SMU Matt Doherty Jimmy Tubbs (fired)
UAB Mike Davis Mike Anderson (left for Missouri)
UTEP Tony Barbee Doc Sadler (left for Nebraska)
Horizon League Cleveland State Gary Waters Mike Garland (fired)
Wright State Brad Brownell Paul Biancardi (resigned)
Independent Texas-Pan American Tom Schuberth Robert Davenport (fired)
Ivy League Brown Craig Robinson Glen Miller (left for Penn)
Penn Glen Miller Fran Dunphy (left for Temple)
MAAC Canisius Tom Parrotta Mike MacDonald (fired)
Fairfield Ed Cooley Tim O’Toole (fired)
Manhattan Barry Rohrssen Bobby Gonzalez (left for Seton Hall)
Saint Peter’s John Dunne Bob Leckie (retired)
MAC Ball State Ronny Thompson Tim Buckley (fired)
Central Michigan Ernie Zeigler Jay Smith (resigned)
MEAC Hampton Kevin Nickelberry Bobby Collins (resigned)
Morgan State Todd Bozeman Butch Beard (resigned)
South Carolina State Jamal Brown Ben Betts (resigned)
Missouri Valley Northern Iowa Ben Jacobson Greg McDermott (left for Iowa State)
Ohio Valley Morehead State Donnie Tyndall Kyle Macy (resigned)
Murray State Billy Kennedy Mick Cronin (left for Cincinnati)
Southeast Missouri State Scott Edgar Gary Garner (fired)
Pac-10 Arizona State Herb Sendek Rob Evans (fired)
Washington State Tony Bennett Dick Bennett (retired)
SEC Ole Miss Andy Kennedy Rod Barnes (fired)
SoCon The Citadel Ed Conroy Pat Dennis (resigned)
College of Charleston Bobby Cremins Tom Herrion (fired)
Furman Jeff Jackson Larry Davis (left for Cincinnati)
Southland Lamar Steve Roccaforte Billy Tubbs (resigned)
McNeese State Dave Simmons Tic Price (fired)
Texas-Arlington Scott Cross Eddie McCarter (resigned)
Texas State Doug Davalos Dennis Nutt (resigned)
UTSA Brooks Thompson Tim Carter (fired)
Sun Belt Florida Atlantic Rex Walters Matt Doherty (left for SMU)
New Orleans Buzz Williams Monte Towe (left for NC State)
SWAC Prairie View A&M Byron Rimm II Darrell Hawkins (interim)
WAC Idaho George Pfeifer Leonard Perry (fired)
WCC Pepperdine Vance Walberg Paul Westphal (fired)
Portland Eric Reveno Michael Holton (fired)

Check out other coaching carousel rundowns: 20242023 | 20222021 | 2020 | 2019 | 201820172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000